In Defense of the Dance Party

Some days just suck. It’s unavoidable. You miss your alarm, you’re out of milk, your car gets parked in, you spill coffee all down your front, you leave work at the worst of rush hour. Somedays the suck just stacks, threatening to drown you in the misery of the day that you can’t seem to escape.

In case you’re wondering, my day sucked. I got turned down for yet another job I interviewed for, got blisters on my feet from walking in flip flops, woke up later than I wanted to. I’m sitting down to write this blog post at ten o’clock at night, and all I’ve done today is make apple crisp. I don’t know if we can call this day a success in the big book.

I’d rather not wallow in the misery today. I’ve done that, and while it’s all well-and-good, I’ve finally put a veto on listening to Keaton Henson and staring at the ceiling. To combat the blues, I’ve decided to make a fool of myself. And have my own personal dance party.

1. Left Hand Free – Alt-J

2. The Way You Make Me Feel – Michael Jackson

3. Shuffle – Bombay Bicycle Club

4. Everyone Knows Everyone – The Helio Sequence

5. Holding Out for a Hero – Bonnie Tyler

6. Cold War – Janelle Monáe

7. I’ll Be Alright – Passion Pit

8. Happy with Me – HOLYCHILD

9. Golden Years – David Bowie

10. How You Like Me Now – The Heavy

11. 100$ Bill – Jay-Z

12. Maneater – Nelly Furtado

13. Right Here, Right Now – Fatboy Slim

14. The Queen and I – Gym Class Heroes

15. Jungle – X Ambassadors, Jamie N Commons

16. Easy (Switch Screens) – Son Lux ft. Lorde

17. Le Disko – Shiny Toy Guns

As always, this playlist is available on Youtube and Spotify.

What are your dance-it-out jams? Talk to me in the comments!

And, just for good measure, let’s bring back this piece of “art.” The Rhys and Miles Virtual Dance Party:

Leave a Reply

