Thursday Three: Outlooks

These last few weeks have been filled with lots of high and lows. I’ve had interviews and rejections, leads and false starts. It’s not easy realizing you’re pretty unqualified for most jobs, especially when you know you could pull them off. It’s been a tough sprint, but I’m trying to remain optimistic.

1. Homemade brunch with friends is wonderful. Yesterday I had the pleasure of entertaining my old college roommate, Erica, for brunch. We made chocolate chip pancakes and scrambled eggs, mimosas, and coffee, and tea from Ricky’s gaiwan. And we talked. I love spending time with Ricky, because we’ve grown into socially aware individuals on pretty separate paths. But when we sit down to chat we fill the silence with stories and shared passions. We discuss the nuances of growing in our communities and our families. It is always a blessing to be in her company.

2. Rejections come in bundles. Today I got turned down for a job that I interviewed for (that makes four rejections this week alone). But I also had a freelance blog post accepted, and was invited to interview for another job I applied to ages ago. I’ve thought a lot about perspective today, and wondered if the negative at all clouds the positive. After a 3.7 mile run today, I’m going to say that the perspective is in my control. Failures don’t negate achievements. (Now ask me again when my rent check is due…)

3. Having something to look forward too will save you. Lots of things are coming up this season, and most of them come faster than you expect (I’m looking at you, Christmas). With the impending terror of the holidays, it is good to have something else to look forward to. For me, it’s NaNoWriMo. I’ve decided to have a launch party, celebrate the craziness of the month. I’ve also got lots of plans with friends in the next month, and I’m hoping these things will help me stay balanced. That, and the kitten snuggles I get to have every day I spend at home. That’s lovely too.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

6 comments

  1. Ugh/sigh. Somehow that is one sound. Interviews are hard like that. Get you all excited and then are hard to let go of. I’ve been the finalist for a few that caused far too many tears. The rejection is hard but it doesn’t define you or your capabilities…which is a hard one for me to sort out sometimes.

    Congrats on the freelance blog though! What was it? Can we go read it somewhere?

    1. Aw, thanks! It’s a comfort to know that other people struggle with this madness, and that it isn’t just me.
      I signed up to be a blogger with BlogMutt. You write random articles clients of you. If they get posted, you get paid. I literally wrote an article titled “Top 10 Horse Costumes of All Time.” Not sure if it’s up yet, but it isn’t anything spectacular.

Leave a Reply

