Three Days Late, $400 Short

So I missed a blog post on Friday. Which means it’s time to talk about goals and falling down.

In June I set up a list of goals, which I never checked in on. Not checking in on your goals is like purposefully not logging into your bank account–you know it’s not going to look the way you’d hoped it would, so put it off for another day.

Well, my bank account is lower than I want, and my goals are drowning under the fluidity of Netflix’s autoplay option. Let’s get back on track, shall we?

June’s action list:

-Make bed every day

-Do at least one responsible/adult task each week day

-Write/research for a half hour each day

-Go for a walk at least twice a week

Limit:

-Two hours of TV a day

The strikethrough? The only consistently achieved goals in the list. I managed to achieve two goals I could do in elementary school. Don’t be a slob, and get your butt outside. Suffice to say, I don’t really count them as success stories.

Sticking to a schedule is one of the hardest parts of being unemployed. Many days have started with several rounds of “snooze,” too many hours on Netflix, an hour or two of blogging, and an application out a day. It’s the bare minimum of what I can do, and while I’m trying not to let the shame spiral take over (and force me to weep into a bowl of ice cream like a sad sack), it doesn’t feel great when I look at my finances and watch the money disappear from my accounts.

Being an adult is hard, man.

So, let’s pick ourselves back up, and get it together. June goals are still on the table. August goals will force us closer to the person we want to be. Time to grow up.

August action list:

-Wake/get out of bed on first alarm

-Complete couch to 5K program

-Do at least one responsible/adult task each weekday (this does not include job applications)

-At least two job applications/inquiries out each weekday

-Blog every weekday

-Write/research at least 1 full hour each weekday

-Say yes to every safe offer to hang out/meet people

Limit:

-NO TV

Someday I will tell you the sordid tale that is my relationship with TV, but for now we’re just going to cut it out. For me, it’s one of the things I feel will push me to meet my goals faster. It gets in the way more often than not.

So there it is. Future Me wakes on her first alarm, goes for a run, is up-to-date on appointments, seeks employment, is a self-starter, and doesn’t let introversion get in the way of meeting new people.

What does Future You look like?

6 comments

  1. I loved this post!

    Future ME wakes up to her first alarm as well, goes for a run 5-6 days a week, lifts weights twice or three times a week, seeks new employment daily, completes a responsible adult task each day around her apartment), starts packing to move at the end of this month and getting rid of belongings that she never uses. Oh, and future me goes to bed at a reasonable hour (no later than 11) so that she can wake up to her first alarm.

Leave a Reply

