An Introduction

Let me get this straight. You’re a 20-something Millennial with an inflated sense of self, a messy apartment, two cats, a BA in English, and a penchant for self-deprecation? And you’re starting a blog?

YESSIREEBOB.

I’m not going to lie, there are probably many blogs out there that will be better than this one. They will be more focused, they’ll teach you things, they won’t wander into your kitchen at four in the morning and make fried eggs for no apparent reason. I recognize that this isn’t an original idea, and at 25 I really don’t have that much wisdom to impart on you. But, unlike some people, I LOVE to talk about when I screw up and make a fool of myself. And I’ve found, thus far, that there is no time more embarrassing than your 20s. So if you’re just starting this crazy adventure or are in the middle of it (or if you just want to relive the horrors of this time in your life), I’m here to remind you that you’re not alone. That I too have eaten a lot of things past their expiration date and I’m still alive. That I have a subscription to the New Yorker that just piles up in the corner of my bedroom because who I am and who I want to be are two very different people. That, yes, you can call it a successful week if you’ve swept your apartment once. Because even at 25 (the age that my middle-school self thought I’d have everything together), I’m still just staving off disaster.

7 comments

  1. Every twenty something themed blog seems to be different and equally great. Looking forward to hearing more from you.

  2. I love this! I’m on the twenty-something adventure as well, trying to become a “real person”… sadly minus the “two cats” part but hopefully that will change sometime soon. You’re a few years ahead of me, so I’m sure I’ll have a lot to learn from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

